Tim Bergsten created this Ning Network.

Joe Gray, Shannon Payne, Allie McLaughlin, win Spirit of the Springs Award

Colorado Springs mountain runners Joe Gray, Shannon Payne and Allie McLaughlin were awarded the Spirit of the Springs award by mayor Steve Bach on Thursday.
"I just want to say how important it is to have people your age see you and to understand how hard you must have worked to excel the way you have," Bach said.
Gray and Payne won the Mount Washington Road Race in June. Gray also won the 2014 U.S. National Running Championship and is a nine-time national champion. Payne finished third in the 2014 Pikes Peak Ascent, helping Team USA win the World Mountain Running Association's long distance championship.
McLaughlin, who was not able to attend the ceremony, is an Air Academy High School and University of Colorado graduate. She won the Pikes Peak Ascent and finished third in the world championships in Italy earlier this month.

Views: 99


You need to be a member of Pikes Peak Sports to add comments!

Join Pikes Peak Sports

Comment by CJ Hitz on September 20, 2014 at 10:20am
Congrats to all three! Very well deserved

© 2024   Created by Tim Bergsten.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service